Home > Warhammer 40K, Warhammer Fantasy, Writing > Submissions window closing…

Submissions window closing…

As I blogged previously, the Black Library is one of those rare publishers that actually look to give new writers a break. I should know – they gave me one. Their submissions window for 2010 is almost closed now, so you’ve only got about three weeks left before those synopses and summaries have to be in. In my experience, a lot of BL readers also have an interest in writing – you just have to look at the fiction sections of any of the forums (like the Bolthole, for instance) – so it’s great that the opportunities exist. So for anyone still working away on their submissions – good luck, make sure you read the guidelines carefully, and send it in on time!

As for me, I’m still working on getting to the mid-point of my next novel. Making the shift to 40K is interesting. It feels like there’s so much more lore and background detail to get on top of than Fantasy. That’s probably an illusion – I’m just much more familiar with the WHFB setting – but exploring all the gothic goodness of the 41st millennium (or, to be more exact, the 32nd millennium) is a huge, endlessly fascinating experience. At some point in the future I’ll be blogging about the unique challenges of writing for Russ’s feral sons, but for now I’m just keeping my head down and doing it.

In other news, there’s a nice review of Sword of Justice here. Good to read some balanced, thoughtful appraisal – something that’s always useful for an author. The vibe on the forums for the book has been pretty cool so far too. As ever, I’m always up for getting feedback from readers on here, so if you’ve read it and have something to say (good or bad), comment away…

  1. Eric
    6 July, 2010 at 14:12

    I can’t even find Sword of Justice anywhere in the stores.
    Hopefully I’ll find it soon and let you know what I think.

    I read your Stargate Atlantis Novel and enjoyed that.
    any plans to do another?

  2. chriswraight
    6 July, 2010 at 14:24

    Are you in the US, Eric? I could be wrong, but I think BL titles take a little while longer to reach the shelves than in the UK. Certainly it was up on Amazon sooner here.

    Thanks for the comments on Dead End. Things are the other way around there – even I haven’t seen a physical copy yet! As soon as I get some, I’m planning to blog about that too. My schedule’s pretty full right now, but if the chance came up I’d love to do another Stargate novel – it was a lot of fun.

  3. Eric
    6 July, 2010 at 15:38

    Yeah I’m in the US
    I was able to get the other two new releases
    But I can’t find Sword of Justice anywhere.

    Looking forward to what you have to say about Dead End
    and the Stargate Universe.

    • chriswraight
      9 July, 2010 at 20:53

      Hmm. I’m not sure what to recommend, other than perhaps ordering from BL direct or from Amazon. I hope you’re able to find one somewhere – it may be taking a little while for it to be rolled out in your area. Good luck!

  4. Eric Slaney
    11 July, 2010 at 16:51

    Thanks.
    I was able to get it on Barnes and Noble.com
    I should get it on Monday! and start reading that night
    I still haven’t seen it in the stores.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

