Home > Events, Warhammer 40K, Warhammer Fantasy > Together at last

Together at last

You looking at us?

That’s Schwarzhelm and Helborg, looking suitably grim and purposeful. What a wonderful cover – very different from the original Warhammer Heroes line, but equally impressive. Swords of the Emperor is out in October, and will be my first Omnibus from BL. I’m excited about this – it’ll be a very big book when it’s back from the printers.

Some other stuff to report: the Wrath of Iron edits are all but done, and BL have put up an extract from the book on their blog to whet your appetite. Look out for this in July.

Luthor Huss continues to pick up reviews. Here’s one from the Lincolnshire Echo which was short but sweet, and a longer one from the I Will Read Books blog. Thanks to both!

Finally, a quick plug for the BL Weekender event in November. This is shaping up to be a huge event, with a whole swathe of authors and artists already confirmed. I’ll be there, and will look forward to chatting about all things Iron Hands, Space Wolves, Warrior Priests, and perhaps other stuff too.

  1. 4 March, 2012 at 16:24

    You are welcome and thanks for mentioning my review 🙂

  2. steven
    6 March, 2012 at 09:27

    Hello Mr. Wraight.

    I’ve heard that you will be writing a limited edition Novella about the White Scars. I was very excited to hear about that given the fact that I think the White Scars really deserve more coverage and also given that I loved Battle of the Fang and your 40k short stories. I’m also very much looking forward to your Iron Hands Space Marine Battles novel.

    Suffice it to say, I’m a big fan of your writing.

    I have one small request about the White Scars novella though. Please don’t use faux caricature like Mongolian-Asian accents. An HH novel, that I will not mention by name, briefly featured a White Scar and the character was written with such an accent and it was cheesy beyond belief. Luckily it was only a small portion of the novel.

    K nm, I have 2 requests. :o)

    Also, please use names with an actual Mongolian derivation. Mongolian names are actually quite cool and imo fit the Space Marine persona.

    These requests are by no means meant to be disrespectful or flippant. Just a few friendly fan suggestions, which I normally don’t do, but I feel pretty strongly about the White Scars. I think they are one of the chapters/legions that have the potential to be amazing if handled correctly or absolutely horrid if mishandled.

    I have a lot of faith in your skill though and I think Warhammer 30k and 40k are in good hands when you are writing about either. :o)

  3. G
    20 March, 2012 at 21:44

    Hi Chris,

    Just read Luthor Huss on holiday and it kept me gripped throughout, I couldn’t put it down! Really is the best book I read in years, I hope to see some more stories either before or after these events – so much to cover.

    I hope I can make the BL weekender and chat with you for 5 mintues, or if you are doing any book signings in the SW of England soon?

    Cheers

    G

    • chriswraight
      22 March, 2012 at 16:39

      Thanks – glad you enjoyed it. I will indeed be at the BL Weekender, and I’m also expecting to be at a signing event in the South West in the autumn. As ever, once things are confirmed, I’ll post about them here. Hope to see you!

  4. Antycarr
    8 May, 2012 at 16:33

    Hey Chris! Huge fan of your work, you definitely are one of the best BL writers around at the moment in my honest opinion. i was wondering about this ‘Swords of the Emperor’ compilation however. I own both ‘Sword of Justice’ and ‘Sword of Vengeance’ as individual books. Could you confirm if there will be bonus material (e.g. Author Introduction/Short Stories etc) included in this new tome which might make it worth replacing my current novels? Thanks.

    Antycarr

    • chriswraight
      8 May, 2012 at 16:51

      Hi Anty,

      Thanks for the kind comments – glad you enjoyed the books. I haven’t seen the typeset copy of Swords of the Emperor yet, but as well as the two ‘Swords’ novels, it should also contain a copy of ‘Feast of Horrors’, a short story with Schwarzhelm that originally appeared in a Games Day anthology; ‘Duty and Honour’, a short story featuring Helborg that hasn’t been previously published; and a new introduction. Once we’re a bit closer to release, I’ll definitely post here with confirmation of all that.

      Cheers!

      • Antycarr
        9 May, 2012 at 10:47

        Thanks for the swift reply! In that case, more than enough excuse to pick them up, especially since it means I can check out more of your work I haven’t already 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

