Home > Warhammer 40K, Writing > The critics speak

The critics speak

Here, Judy - let's try the Space Wolves

It’s all been about the Space Wolves recently. I’m currently finishing off a short story featuring them, as well as reading all the reviews for Battle of the Fang strewn across the internet.

Like most authors (I guess), I have a slightly tunnel-visioned attitude to reviews – though I should know better, I seek them out with frightening determination once a book has hit the shelves. It’s a bad habit to have, but one that’s hard to shake. Most BL readers, I’m sure, aren’t nearly so interested in the minutiae of every internet critic’s view of a given book, but after spending so long writing a novel there’s an almost irresistible urge to find out what’s being said about it. And most of that, I suspect, is down to insecurity – the bane of an author’s (otherwise very nice) existence.

Anyway, here are some of the more recent write-ups, in case anyone other than me is interested. Graeme Flory has written a detailed review over at his Fantasy Book Review. The Space Wolves Grey blog, which I read regularly (loving Wolf and Sister, by the way) has a nice account here, and there are short and sweet reviews here, here, and here too. Thanks to everyone who took the time to post their thoughts.

Over on the BL site, a PDF extract from the book itself has been posted up too, so anyone interested in picking it up can get a taster first. Head over to the book’s page to take a look (where, here too, the reviews are mounting up…).

Right, that’s quite enough about Fang – time to get back to new writing. The short story currently has the title Kraken, by the way. Which might well give some clues as to what it’s all about. Or it might not.

Categories: Warhammer 40K, Writing
  1. 20 June, 2011 at 15:31

    RELEASE THE KRAKEN!

  2. 20 June, 2011 at 17:24

    I loved Fang the first time around – and have just finished reading it a second time. Now I can’t help but look forward to this Kraken tale… 🙂

  3. Nick Sharps
    22 June, 2011 at 07:13

    Very good book! I can’t wait to see your next 40K outing.

  4. Hans
    23 June, 2011 at 22:59

    Excellent work with Battle of the Fang Chris. I have to admit I was concerned about having just a few W40k authors that I really liked and then your book comes along and suddenly there is one more “great one”.

    Fantastic!

  5. Logan Sama
    23 July, 2011 at 11:52

    Not really familiar with your work before, but Battle Of The Fang is easily as good as any other piece of 40k fiction I have ever read going back to Inquisitor and Bill King’s Horus vs Emperor short through to recent work by Abnett and McNeill.

    Thank you for this wonderful book, and I look forward to discovering more of your novels in time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

