Extractastic

21 January, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Heading into the weekend, there’s not one but two extracts of new books up on the BL Site (you lucky people, you).

First off, take a look at a couple of passages from the newly released Sword of Vengeance. These are, as you’d expect, from the beginning of the story. Neither of them mentions Helborg, but don’t worry – he turns up soon.

Second, there’s a PDF up with extracts of two stories in the new anthology Victories of the Space Marines. Ones of these is from ‘Runes’, my Space Wolf story. This was my first ever attempt to write Space Marines, and it was a fascinating challenge. It feels a bit odd, reading it now, since most of the back end of 2010 was spent writing a very different Space Wolf story with a much bigger cast and with a great deal more ambition. But you have to start somewhere, and I hope it’ll go down well.

As for now, I’m working on not one but two new book projects for WHF (you lucky people, you). One of them’s been planned out and the writing’s started in earnest, while the other is still in the plotting stage. All lots of fun – I’ll look forward to blogging more about them when I can.

  1. 26 January, 2011 at 10:16

    150ish pages into Sword of vengence at the moment… and very happy I am too. Would be further but there comes a time when the lamp must be turned off and sleep attempted. Really liking what you’ve done with Volkmar thus far. pacing’s great on the scene Chang’s too. Keeps both things moving along and the readers interest piqued nicely.

    • chriswraight
      28 January, 2011 at 20:59

      Glad you’re liking it 🙂 Looking forward to hearing what you think at BL Live.

  2. The Wicked Worm
    14 February, 2011 at 08:29

    LOVED Sword of Vengeance. Looking every so foward to Battle of the Fang.

    BTW, I haven’t been able to make heads or tails of the Viginus polyalphabetic cipher. For example, on page 207, I tried to decipher the first couple of letters using “Wenenlich” as the key. So with the letters, “[space]jlyvrataakpn” I ended up with “fyuilirh”. Have I messed up somewhere there?

  3. chriswraight
    14 February, 2011 at 09:48

    Hi The Wicked Worm,

    Glad you liked Sword of Vengeance 🙂

    The code can be a little tricky. Are you following the instructions in the Appendix (those are the clearest)? It can be easy to mix up the rows and columns. To recap, you need to move to the row indicated by the first letter in the jumbled text. In the table, this means scanning down to the row starting with ‘j’. Then move across until you hit the first letter in the key (‘w’). When you’re in this column, move up to to the top of the column, which should give you ‘n’. That’s your first letter.

    After this, just move one letter along in the jumbled text (‘l’), and one letter along the key (‘e’), and repeat. Remember that, even if you do it right, the resulting text may not be that easy to read straight away, since there are lots of abbreviations and no spaces. It is, after all, meant to be hard to crack!

    Let me know how you get on – I’d be interested. Once SoV has been out for a while and the potential for spoilers is reduced, I plan to blog on this topic with some background info on the code and some more detail on solving it.

    Cheers!

  4. Reds8n
    14 February, 2011 at 21:33

    I did wonder about this, ahven’t had a spare chance to try and decode the message/s yet.

    ..err… if there’s a prize then I’ll claim it now, alright ?

    Loved both books, and glad of the extra pages in this one too. Thought the battle scenes were wicked and I was especially …. hmm…. “entertained” by events/comments/happenings in the tower. I’ll leave that there, I hope that’s spoiler free enough.

    In certain ways, with regards to characters, you are a cruel, cruel man ;), and I loved the way you resolved and left things at the end. I hope that Bl continue to allow their authors to do this, helps the setting immensely IMO.

    I expect signatures and I reckon you get a pint at BL Live, alright ? 🙂

    • The Wicked Worm
      17 February, 2011 at 04:22

      I agree with Reds8n. You are a cruel, cruel man; seems like nobody’s safe in Mr. Wraight’s hands.(which is why Sword of Justice and Vengeance were so interesting).

      I started to decode the first couple of letters using the right way and it still didn’t make too much sense to me. I think that someone who texts a lot would be more capable since I imagine that much of the message is abreviated. I guess I will wait until you blog about it or someone else does all the heavy lifting!

      BTW, can you tell us if any of the characters in Sword of Justice/Vengeance going to appear in either of your upcoming WHF books?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

