Home > Events, Warhammer Fantasy, Writing > Return to the Old World

Return to the Old World

So, a new year and a new book. I’m writing again after a short break, which is a good state to be in. It’s back to Warhammer Fantasy for me, and the Old World once more. After my detour to Fenris, it feels a bit like coming home again. I’ll keep the subject of the new story to myself for now, but as soon as something’s announced by BL I’ll no doubt put the news up here.

In the meantime, I’m looking forward to Sword of Vengeance coming out next month, and hoping it proves a fitting sequel to its predecessor. As I posted last year, I’ll be attending BL Live at Games Workshop HQ in March, which will be a great opportunity to get a copy signed, or just chat about the story and the thinking behind it.

And, speaking of events, I’m also slated to turn up at the SFX Weekender in February in the esteemed (and slightly intimidating) company of Dan Abnett and Nick Kyme. If you’re headed that way, do come over and say hi. I’ll be the one gazing around, looking a bit lost.

As for the rest of the year, well there are some very interesting things coming up. Nothing I can talk about yet, or the Inquisition will be knocking at the door, but I’ve got high hopes for another year of Warhammer/40K goodness. As ever, you’ll read it here first…

  1. dreadnok
    7 January, 2011 at 01:00

    but what about in the old world!!! please tell me its about an ogre hero!!!

    • chriswraight
      10 January, 2011 at 12:57

      Ogre Hero? That would be a *lot* of fun to write. Might be problems getting it past marketing, though…

  2. Entomophobie
    7 January, 2011 at 17:27

    I would love to see you doing a Time of Legend serie. I don’t know if this kind of project and format would interest you as well.

    So far, your stories focus on characters from the Empire (which is cool too). Do you have interest on writing some from other perspective, such as Chaos cultist or Champion, Bretonian, etc.

    With BL, do you have the liberty to submit your own ideas and project, or it’s more BL who comes out with general needs, ideas and plans for Warhammer?

    • chriswraight
      10 January, 2011 at 13:05

      Time of Legends, eh? I’m not saying a word.

      Yes, almost all of my WHFB stuff has been Empire-centric. I must say, that suits me – of all the varied Warhammer settings, the Empire probably intrigues me the most. There are lots of other factions/regions I’d love to write for, of course, but I don’t think that focus will change too much in the near future (for books set in the Warhammer ‘present’, at least).

      As for submissions to BL, the editors usually have a pretty clear idea of what they want, and my recent projects have tended to be in response to suggestions from Nick or Lindsey. I do have some ideas for things I’d like to do further down the line (doesn’t everyone?), but the two or three things I’m working on right now will keep me busy for a good while to come.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

