A rare lull

11 November, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

It feels like I’ve been writing more or less constantly for about eighteen months. That period has produced Sword of Justice, Sword of Vengeance, Feast of Horrors (a short story released at BL Live 2010), Runes (a short story for Victories of the Space Marines), and Battle of the Fang. I make that almost 400,000 words, if you include my short story for the Heresy Anthology, Age of Darkness. The first draft of that went in today, and I’ll wait to hear what Christian makes of it when he’s had a chance to read it.

So, for the first time in a long while, I’ve not got a big project to launch straight into. I’m sure that will change once the edits come back for Fang, but until then I can work on some other things, such as the maps that will accompany that book. I’ve had drafts of these on my desk for many months, and have used them extensively when planning the battle scenes, but they now need updating before being sent off to some proper artists who can turn my scribbles into something you’d actually want to find in the middle of a book.

The relative calm has given me the time to enjoy reading of Aaron Dembski-Bowden‘s ascent into daemonhood the New York Times bestseller list. It’s great to see his fearsome talent being rewarded, and I’m sure this accolade will be the first of many. Aaron joins Graham McNeill and James Swallow in the hallowed ranks of BL’s NYT mafia, and with Prospero Burns heading our way soon, any bets on a certain Mr Abnett joining that brotherhood in the New Year?

In other news, there’s a cracking review of Sword of Justice over here. Ta very much!

  1. Xhalax
    16 November, 2010 at 23:52

    Oh Mr. Wraight, you treat us fans so kindly!

    Certainly lots of goodies there to keep me entertained…and I’m glad that you’ve join the Heresy crowd with your short in Age of Darkness.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

