Home > Warhammer 40K > Fang complete

Fang complete

20 October, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Jeez, it’s been quiet here for a long time. That’s almost entirely due to a massive last push to finish Battle of the Fang. As always seems to be the case in the dying stages of a project, everything took much longer than expected, but the climactic scenes are now done, the bodies are cooling in the snow, and the story is definitely told. It’s been a very, very hard task to get there, but one that I hope will pay dividends over the next few months as the book edges toward production. I’m tweaking a few bits here and there before sending it off to BL, and after that will wait for the first lot of feedback with typical anxiety.

I’ll be blogging over the next few weeks with some of my (spoiler-free) reflections on the project. I’ve learned a lot about writing during the course of this one, not least by reading some cracking stuff in preparation. Taking on one of the most famous battles in the established lore has been an intimidating enough challenge for my first 40K foray, but the episode in question also comes hard on the heels of the epic encounter detailed in A Thousand Sons and Prospero Burns (both in terms of the lore chronology and in the publishing schedule). Needless to say, I’ve worked very hard to reflect the work done in those two books – I’m completely sold on the vision Graham McNeill and Dan Abnett have for the Thousand Sons and the Space Wolves, and Battle of the Fang is very much intended to complement and build on that foundation.

As it happens, I’ve also just been sent the first proofs of the short story collection Victories of the Space Marines. This contains Runes, my very first attempt to write Space Wolves. Reading that again after spending so many months on Fenris was a slightly odd experience – I’ve learned considerably more about the Sons of Russ and their unique psychology since starting work on them.

Happily, the more I’ve learned about them, the more I like them. I hope you will too.

Categories: Warhammer 40K
  1. Xhalax
    21 October, 2010 at 21:43

    YAY!

    Best news I’ve heard all day, and not just because there’s word of people sleeping on red snow.

    However, I do like how well everyone at BL seem to be working together with their writing….albeit not necessarily actually working together, but things are definitely mixing well and we’re getting a much more gelled, together world.

    As I’ve said about 8 times now, I’m really looking forward to this. Getting to see your Space Wolves on their home turf (we never seem to visit Fenris much) and fighting against those pesky Thousand Sons.

    And I darely hope, Mr. Wraight that you never have to say: I recognise my failing and will be sure to correct them.

    *wink wink*

    • chriswraight
      22 October, 2010 at 12:59

      Xhalax :

      And I darely hope, Mr. Wraight that you never have to say: I recognise my failing and will be sure to correct them.

      I have no idea what you’re talking about. *coughs*

      • Xhalax
        22 October, 2010 at 22:16

        Of course not, sir! I have no idea what I was talking about either.

        *whistles*

  2. reds8n
    22 October, 2010 at 12:53

    Cool, really looking forwards to this.
    One thing I would suggest is that the previous books in this series, whilst fine tales, the colour plates ( is that the term ?) in the middle of the book have been nicely,flawlessly even, produced but haven;t really added anything of great worth to the overall complete product.
    YMMV of course.

    Maps of The Fang would be cool though 😉

    • chriswraight
      22 October, 2010 at 13:02

      Without giving anything away, the progress of the story in BotF depends on large part on the layout of the Fang and the tactical possibilities that gives. Among other maps, there’ll be a very detailed cross-section diagram of the interior. Over the next few weeks, under the magisterial gaze of Herr Hinks, I’ll be looking forward to seeing the final product take shape. 🙂

  3. reds8n
    22 October, 2010 at 14:45

    Excellent news indeed.

    I shall, of course, take all the credit for this innovation.:)

  4. 22 October, 2010 at 17:19

    Hello Chris,

    Upon reading about your first ‘feature-length’ endeavour into the territory of the wolves, I have to say I am very excited.
    It was also, and I mean this in the nicest way possible, very cool to read that it’s been hard for you. I find this usually means that you’ll have succeeded in drawing blood from a stone and the treatment you’ve given the wolves will be met with much respect and admiration.
    Anything that is ‘hard’ is worth doing right?
    I, for one, cannot wait for this story!
    Cheers,
    RaW

    • chriswraight
      25 October, 2010 at 11:18

      Hi RaW,

      Thanks for the kind comments. I know what you mean about anything worth doing being difficult. It does feel good to finally have this one nailed in draft form, although there’s still a fair bit of work to do during the editing stage, so I won’t relax just yet…

  5. dorian
    5 November, 2010 at 20:02

    You have no idea how much I’m looking forward to this book. I’m already waiting in anticipation. My beloved Space Wolves. It’s going to be awesome, I don’t really have any doubt about that.

    • chriswraight
      5 November, 2010 at 21:00

      Cheers Dorian – I hope you get as much out of reading it as I did writing it. In the meantime, there’s Prospero Burns too. I’m sure you don’t need me to tell you this, but it’s an amazing book – essential reading for Wolves fans.

  6. dorian
    8 November, 2010 at 19:08

    Only 2 more months til Prospero Burns. 2011 is going to be a good year. Prospero Burns, Battle of the Fang, Blood Reaver and many more books I’m looking forward to. I’m really thankful for authors. People who take something and bring it to life with words. I couldn’t imagine my life without books. If I could earn my money by reading books I’d be the happiest person on this planet. Heh.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

