Re-energised

27 September, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Games Day logo

Well, it’s the morning after Games Day, and I reckon I’d better post while things are relatively fresh in my memory. It was only my second GD, so I’m still newbie enough to get excited about it. If I’d been less of a newbie, I might have remembered to take some photos. But I am, so I didn’t.

The more I reflect on the day, the more I’m convinced that such events are pretty much essential for an author’s sanity. Most of the time, writing is more or less an isolated existence, with only the uncertain medium of the internet to give you an idea how your stuff’s being received. While this can be helpful – getting a good review is still a buzz – it’s no substitute for readers coming to chat, in person, about the books they’ve enjoyed and why. And it was also great to have some time with the other authors, artists and the BL publishing team on the Saturday night. As I’ve noted here before, for a bunch of people who spend their time writing, editing or selling books mostly concerned with large-scale violence and mayhem, everyone’s really very nice.

Anyway, the day was spectacularly well managed from my point of view. Thanks to Alex for deftly sorting out the hotel bookings and transport, to Mal and Caroline and everyone else who masterminded the organisation of the day, and to Vince who looked after our fragile artistic egos during the signing. I’m sure that leaves out many people at BL who worked very hard, but all efforts were much appreciated.

With no brand-new releases on show this time, the actual signing portion of the day was pretty quiet for me this year, but that did give plenty of time to have a chat with those hardy souls who’d bought Sword of Justice or Iron Company. Thanks to everyone who came by to get a sig, or to comment on a book they’d read, or just to say hi. One guy said that Sword of Justice had actually rekindled his interest in Fantasy again, while plenty of people who enjoyed the book expressed a burning desire to find out what’ll happen in Part II. That was all very cool, and made those long nights hunched over the keyboard seem worthwhile.

I remain hugely impressed by – and slightly scared of – everyone who made the effort to dress up (particularly the Titan menials, who were all superb). And it was also good to put some faces to internet names, and to get re-acquainted with some readers I remembered from GD09. My sieve-like memory will no doubt let me down in the future, but I will try to remember names!

So, re-enthused and re-energised, it’s time to get back to the actual writing. Fenris calls!

  1. Niall
    27 September, 2010 at 20:39

    I see you are doing a short story for age of Darkness the HH anthology and was wondering if you could tell us what its gonna be about.

    Understand if you can’t answer.

    Thanks in advance for answering.

    • chriswraight
      28 September, 2010 at 10:01

      Hey Niall,

      The Age of Darkness short has only just been commissioned, so I’m afraid I’ll have to stay pretty cagey about it. It does feature a character who’s already popped up in the Heresy and remains active in 40K, as well as some newcomers, all on a planet we’ve seen before. Other than that, I’m keeping schtum.

  2. Schafe
    27 September, 2010 at 21:36

    It was great to talk to you again at games day, I think I even mentioned it was so in my games day write up on the bolthole. Anyway I am excited about everything you have in the future (including the Age of Darkness short story) and the vibes you give off with regards the areas you wish to explore with your future Warhammer work makes me giddy like a school girl.

    I guess I’ll darken the area around your signing station next at BLL! 2011 (got my ticket at Games Day and everything). You’ve been warned.

    • chriswraight
      28 September, 2010 at 09:56

      Good to see you too, Schaf, and nice write-up on the Bolthole. I’m excited about the future projects too, and glad you approve of the direction things are moving in. I wouldn’t want to annoy you. Not while you’re as giddy as a schoolgirl.

  3. 28 September, 2010 at 16:02

    Good to see you again, Chris. Will be reading Sword of Justice (thanks to it being on the Digital sampler CD) before our next meeting. Loved the Feast of Horrors short and I’m sorry I wasn’t able to form that into a cogent thought when I spoke to you at GD.

    Ludwig does strike me as the taciturn hard-ass with a heart of gold. Fantasy’s own Perry Cox (without the huge ego!) I am very much looking forward to finishing my current reading pile to get to grips with it.

    You’re a real gentleman allowing me to moan about the lack of being picked up.

    • chriswraight
      28 September, 2010 at 17:07

      Cheers, Tim – good to run into you again, and glad you liked Feast of Horrors. Do let me know what you made of Sword of Justice in due course – I’d be interested. And good luck with the writing – stick at it!

      (I should point out, for the removal of any uncertainty, that Tim was moaning about the difficulty in getting picked up as a writer. Not any other sense. As far as I know, anyway…)

  4. Reds8n
    28 September, 2010 at 19:31

    It was great to say hello and “press the flesh”, I really would have liked to get something signed.. but next time. Really looking forward to both your HH short and your Space Wolf book especially.

    And you SO need to do more theorising about how there really aren’t any gods other than the chaos ones in the WFb world too.. 😉

    • chriswraight
      20 October, 2010 at 20:06

      Hey Red8n,

      Very good to meet you too, especially after an excellent chat over on DakkaDakka. As for Chaos Gods and WFB, I have a lot of ideas for something to do with them. Too soon to start dropping many hints, but there’s definitely a story to be told there…

  5. Xhalax
    20 October, 2010 at 19:38

    It was, as always, a complete and utter delight to speak with you again Mr. Wraight, and Swords of Justice is progressing wonderfully. I’m closing in on the half way mark and I’m finding it a complete page turner to the point there I curse the fact that it’s the end of my lunch time and that I have to get off the bus.

    Though I have to admit that I’m definitely more fond of Kurt Helborg…..though that can be forgiven because he is the High Marshal.

    And sorry if I scared you again this year, HUGE green dress last year, Titan menial this year. And for a quick heads up…..we’ll be an Inquisitional Warband next year! So I’ll try not to wave a bone saw at you.

    And Battle for the Fang….HELL YEAH!

    • chriswraight
      20 October, 2010 at 20:09

      Cheers Xhalax. The Titan menials weren’t scary, but the giant pink light we were signing under definitely was. As for me looking startled, that’s basically my natural expression – please don’t take it personally.

      Ah yes, Helborg vs Schwarzhelm. I’m glad people have different views on those two. Kurt’s definitely the more obviously impressive of the pair, but do wait until you get to the end before making up your mind completely… 😉

      • Xhalax
        21 October, 2010 at 21:45

        Well at the half way mark, the plot has most definitely thickened….and with such things, I find that I may be in the mood to re-evaluate my thoughts of Schwarzhelm. Though I suspect that any shift that takes place, if it’s more towards the positive, it may be minor as….we’ll Schwartzhelm is a cantankerous old swine at the best of times.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

