Home > Warhammer 40K, Warhammer Fantasy > Fang midpoint

Fang midpoint

After a tortuous few weeks, the midpoint for my Space Marines Battles novel has finally gone in. For those not familiar with the BL editing system, books are submitted in two stages – a half-way point and a complete first draft. In most cases, that’s 50,000 and 100,000 words respectively. Calling it the ‘midpoint’ is a little misleading, though – by the time you’ve written half the words on the page, a lot more than half of the book project has been completed. This is because the planning, plotting and character ideas take a lot of time to get right, and form about a third of the time and effort involved in writing a BL book (at least in my experience).

So I’m now in the terrible, purgatorial state of waiting for my editor’s first thoughts. As a result, I won’t blog much about the process of writing until I get some feedback. Writing about Space Marines, though, is hugely interesting, and hugely challenging. They’re not human, for a start (well, not really). Some of the key emotional content of a typically human character – like fear, for example – just isn’t there. That presents some tricky situations, and demands creativity. Filling 100,000 words full of mindless killing machines just won’t do – there needs to be some exploration of the unique characteristics of the astartes. In the case of the Space Wolves, there are some obvious inroads – their unique semi-feral nature, for example – but there’s still a lot of work to do.

As a result, my all-too-mortal fingers are very firmly crossed. I’m hoping I’ve got the balance right in the midpoint draft, and that the next 50,000 words will build on what’s gone before. In the meantime, it’s been fantastic to see Sword of Justice being reviewed on Graeme’s Fantasy Book Review. I was hoping he’d pick up a copy, as I read the blog myself and enjoy reading his stuff. If you’re interested, check it out here.

  1. 26 August, 2010 at 07:52

    Nice interview on Graeme’s Fantasy Book Review. Looking forward to GDUK as I have a list of questions for almost every author. I’m struggling with structure and scope and need some serious help at this point.

  2. chriswraight
    26 August, 2010 at 09:02

    Hi Tim. Cheers – I’ve put a post up now. As for GD, looking forward to seeing you there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

