Home > Warhammer 40K > No forum? No problem

No forum? No problem

So, the new BL site is up. Looking good, I reckon – very clean and professional.

Of course, a lot of internet static has focussed on the loss of the forums. I don’t know what the reason was for this – possibly technical, possibly too time-consuming to monitor – but I can’t say I’m hugely surprised. GW lost its forums a long time ago, and there are plenty of options elsewhere to choose from. A fair few BL authors post over at Pyroriffic’s Black Library Junkies’ Bolthole, so if you miss the old boards you could do worse than head over there. AD-B has also listed some GW-based forums, most of which have some BL content. Definitely worth a look.

In other news, I can’t believe this hasn’t got more attention. I’m excited. Is anyone else? Well?

Categories: Warhammer 40K
  1. Tookey
    26 March, 2010 at 13:47

    The BL site does look clean and professional, but as someone who spends about 6 days a week trying to get an internet based programme to do what it is meant to I can’t see what took so long. But it’s back and I guess that’s what matters.
    Not having a forum was not much of a shock, I know from ongoing bitter experience how much time can go on monitoring.
    I have been to the bolthole a few times and had a look around, but should really sign up, who knows I might even pluck up the courage to post the story that is growing from our games on there, what’s the worst that could happen?
    I have been watching the Ultramarines web-site since the beginning, it seems to be going slow, but I guess Rome wasn’t built in a day. So far it all looks good, and the cast line up is quite impressive.
    Just read the free sample of SoJ, now really looking forward to it.
    Thanks
    Mark

  2. Jack
    26 March, 2010 at 18:47

    There’s a free extract? On the B.L. site presumably? Ludwig and Kurt are awesome characters and I for one can’t wait for your duology Mr. Wraight! And yeah, no real loss not having the forums – there’s plenty other places for folk to post their fiction. Tookey – go for it!

  3. 27 March, 2010 at 09:19

    Thanks for the shout-out to the Bolthole, boss!

    S
    x

    • chriswraight
      28 March, 2010 at 10:21

      No problem – looks like it’s going from strength to strength.

  4. chriswraight
    28 March, 2010 at 10:12

    Tookey :
    I have been to the bolthole a few times and had a look around, but should really sign up, who knows I might even pluck up the courage to post the story that is growing from our games on there, what’s the worst that could happen?

    You should post it! There’s lots of fiction there, and the feedback is very supportive. If you’re interested in writing, there’s also a lot of material there you might find helpful.

    I have been watching the Ultramarines web-site since the beginning, it seems to be going slow, but I guess Rome wasn’t built in a day. So far it all looks good, and the cast line up is quite impressive.

    Yes, the cast is fantastic IMO. Interesting it’s so full of Brits, too. Everything I’ve seen so far on the blog has made me more enthusiastic about this.

    Just read the free sample of SoJ, now really looking forward to it.

    Good stuff 🙂 It’s out in July (I think) – hope you enjoy it. In the meantime, there are copies of the BL Live chapbook on sale still, which has some Schwarzhelm goodness too.

  5. chriswraight
    28 March, 2010 at 10:19

    Jack :

    There’s a free extract? On the B.L. site presumably? Ludwig and Kurt are awesome characters and I for one can’t wait for your duology Mr. Wraight! And yeah, no real loss not having the forums – there’s plenty other places for folk to post their fiction. Tookey – go for it!

    Hmm. There was. I think it got lost in the BL site reshuffle. If you’re desperate to have a look, there’s a cached copy of the page here, but I’m sure the original will be back up soon. Hope you enjoy!

  6. Tookey
    29 March, 2010 at 12:39

    Wasn’t really interested in writing (just reading), but after starting the journal of our games it was to tempting not to give it a go. But I had no idea how long it took to write, 2000 words seemed to take forever, so anyone that writes lots well has just gone up in my esteem.
    I got the sample when they said they said they were taking the website down, and much to my shame I have just gotten round to reading it. I have the chap book, you signed it for me at BL live. I have to say it done its job and is what made me read the sample, still very much looking forward to the continuing adventures of Schwarzhelm, which is out in July according to the BL website.
    Thanks
    Mark

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

