Slow Going

There’s a post over here on Nick Kyme’s blog that I sympathise with. I’ve been trying to bring Sword of Vengeance to a close for a few weeks now. It’s now very late. This isn’t something that I’ve done before (well, not really), and I’m kind of annoyed about it.

The problem isn’t getting up to the word-count (though putting 125,000 on the page always takes a while). In fact, I’ve got considerably more than that sitting on my hard drive, and there’s lots of editing to do on it. No, the problem, frankly, is Aaron Dembski-Bowden. All six of you who read this blog will know of my admiration for Soul Hunter. As far as I’m concerned, it’s everything a 40K novel ought to be, and it’s raised the bar for the rest of us.

So I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about SoV, trying to get it to work as well as I think it can. Writing tie-in fiction has pretty low kudos in the larger world of literary endeavour, but when it works, it really works. The stuff that Dan Abnett and AD-B are turning out at the moment ranks alongside anything produced in ‘original’ SF/Fantasy right now. And with A Thousand Sons tearing up the charts, perhaps BL is finally getting the mainstream attention it’s deserved for a while now.

So, it’s an exciting time to be writing for BL. There’s a clutch of inspirational writers doing great things, and it’s a blast to be part of it. After SoV‘s out of the door, I’ve got a massive project coming up which I’ve truly excited about. Of course, I have to finish my current one first, so I’d better get back to work…

  1. 19 March, 2010 at 08:09

    Stay with it Chris. I think it’s largely the time of year. Getting through the tough ‘dark mornings, early evenings’ and back to a more spring-like time until the clocks go forward is a time of year I’ve noticed most of my colleagues are drained, tired, senses dulled, and distinctly uninspired.

    To quote a wise man in an eminently wonderful film:
    “You can do it!”

  2. chriswraight
    19 March, 2010 at 09:01

    Cheers Tim – yup, definitely getting there now 🙂

  3. 19 March, 2010 at 09:03

    YAY!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

