Home > Warhammer Fantasy > Taking on the big guns

Taking on the big guns

4 February, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

This’ll be my last post until BL Live, as I’ll be away until then on a much-needed break. In the past few days I’ve been pressing on with the second book of my Sword duology, trying to flesh out the character of Kurt Helborg and bring things to a suitably climactic conclusion. This, and the Schwarzhelm characterisation, have been fantastic opportunities to flesh out major players in the Warhammer world.

It might be worth saying something about this. I’ve been acutely conscious that Warhammer players and readers will already have pretty clear views of what Schwarzhelm and Helborg are like. They have stats in the game, and brief bios in the Army Books. Schwarzhelm is a grim dispenser of justice; Helborg a flamboyant commander of the finest knightly order in the Imperial Army. The challenge for me has been to try and develop these outlines, adding depth without distorting the essential elements.

Obviously, doing so is fraught with danger. Getting it wrong risks making a character that many people cherish look out of place, wrong or foolish. On the other hand, doing nothing but produce a slightly more verbose version of what’s in the Army Books fails to make the most of the opportunities a novel-length treatment presents. So, what you try to do is to develop the character in a way that’s consistent with what we already know while taking him in new directions. When Sword of Justice comes out later this year, I’ll wait for the feedback on Ludwig with more than the usual interest. By the time the duology is finished, he and Helborg will have walked a long and dark path together…

Until then, apologies if I don’t answer any comments until after the 13th – but give me a shout if you’re at GWHQ on the day, and I’ll look forward to posting about it when I get back.

Categories: Warhammer Fantasy
  1. Xhalax
    6 February, 2010 at 19:49

    Well I’ll give you a shout….not an actual shout of course as that would be rather impolite when I’m just across the table getting my chapbook signed.

    But hope you have a good break and see you next week!

  2. Dan Beresford
    13 February, 2010 at 19:12

    Hi Chris,

    I just wanted to stop by here and say thank you for the insights into both the Empire and how you approach writing within the Warhammer world.

    It was nice to meet you, and thank you for signing my copy of Feast of Horrors, and I’ll most definitely be picking up your ‘Sword’ duology.

    Thanks again for the chat, see you at Games Day I guess, if not before!

    Cheers,

    Dan

    • chriswraight
      14 February, 2010 at 18:50

      Dan – very good to chat to you again, and I too enjoyed our chat about the Empire. Hope you enjoyed the chapbook story, and I’ll look forward to your thoughts on Sword of Justice when it comes out. Cheers for the questions in the Q&A, and hope to catch up again at the next Games Day/BL Live.

  3. 13 February, 2010 at 20:59

    Bad man. You left without the promised exchange of email addresses.

    *stares at you until goes cross eyed*

    username at the mail of g’s dot com.

    • chriswraight
      14 February, 2010 at 18:48

      Ah yes – sorry about that. Lost track of time during the panel on writing for BL. Will drop you a line…

      • 14 February, 2010 at 19:08

        It was the crossed eyes that did it, wasn’t it?

  4. Dan Beresford
    15 February, 2010 at 14:34

    I didn’t realise you were attending Pyro! I could have said hi!

  5. 15 February, 2010 at 15:24

    DOH! We’re all so rubbish at coordinating each other!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

