Home > Warhammer Fantasy > Hunting Souls

Hunting Souls

18 January, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Damn, that’s a long time without a post. Not sure where the time went, other than I’ve been *very* busy. Belated New Year’s greetings to anyone out there still waiting for a sign of life. Not dead yet, though after getting through the mid-point of Sword of Vengeance last week, I almost am.

So, what’s going on? Well, a 5,000 short story for the BL Live chapbook is now done. This is sharing a billing with a fantastic Nick Kyme 40K short, and was a lot of fun to write. It was another chance to spend some time with the big, bearded unsmiling one before I sign off on the Schwarzhelm/Helborg duology sometime next month. Gonna miss him when he’s gone, the old curmudgeon.

Sword of Justice proofs are almost done, too. It’s a long one (125,000 words, almost on the nail), and it’s taken a while. Nice to see it heading to completion now. Anyone looking for more info this could do worse than download the sample PDF from the Black Library website.

Aside from all that, I’ve finally found some time to read, and BL recently sent me a copy of Aaron Dembski-Bowden’s Soul Hunter. It’s astonishingly good. The Night Lords are many people’s favourite Chaos Legion for obvious reasons – their moral complexity, their antagonistic relationship with the powers of the warp, their enigmatic, brooding Primarch, the quixotic nature of their war against the Imperium. Soul Hunter captures all of this superbly, and the writing – cliché-free, beautifully descriptive – is consistently excellent. Highly recommended.

Categories: Warhammer Fantasy Tags:
  1. 18 January, 2010 at 20:21

    I vaguely remember you. Some… bloke. Yes…

    Good to see you’re still in the land of the living! I’m about 85% through Iron Company now and have enjoyed it immensely, not least of all because with one exception, I really don’t like ANY of the characters. I love reading about characters I don’t like. Which probably makes no sense, but I enjoy it anyway.

  2. chriswraight
    19 January, 2010 at 10:43

    Yes, I know, going to blog *religiously* from now on. Every other day. Or at least once a week. Definitely more than one post per month. Probably.

    Glad you’re liking IC. Which is the one you like?

  3. 19 January, 2010 at 16:37

    Hildebrandt. He’s the only one I don’t want to slap upside the head with a wet kipper.

  4. Xhalax
    22 January, 2010 at 18:46

    Can’t believe it’s nearly BL Live already.

    Doesn’t seem like five minutes since it was Games Day…..I’ve fallen so far behind in my reading.

    BOO!

    • chriswraight
      26 January, 2010 at 14:53

      Yeah, it’s crept up fast, particularly as I’ve got a *lot* of stuff to do beforehand. Reminds me, really should post something about it…

  1. 18 March, 2010 at 11:29

Leave a Reply

