Home > Warhammer Fantasy > All Greek to me

All Greek to me

27 October, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

As odd as the online world is, sometimes the real world can be even stranger. Some time ago I wrote a book called Dark Storm Gathering. It was set in the Warhammer world, but with a slight twist – the setting was that used by the MMO Warhammer Online. It was a lot of fun to do, but as it’s been out for a while now, I wasn’t expecting to hear much more about it.

Which was why I was very surprised to get a note from Black Library a while ago with details of a Greek edition. I admit that I thought that this would be the English language version, just repackaged for the Greek market. That’s probably typical of an English-speaker – we just assume that everyone can get by in our uncivilised, guttural tongue. But no, it’s a full translation! I’m absolutely delighted – I’m an international author!

Greek Books

BL have put up some pics of the covers here. Needless to say, I’m very chuffed to be in the company of Nathan Long and Dan Abnett – fine master storytellers both. I hope they do very well. If there are any Greek readers of this blog – let me know what you think (in English, please – I’m afraid I wasn’t responsible for the translation).

Categories: Warhammer Fantasy
  1. 27 October, 2009 at 10:46

    You jet-setter, you.

  2. chriswraight
    27 October, 2009 at 11:58

    Indeed. I write most of my books by the pool in Malibu, sipping a Pina Colada.

    I wish.

  3. 27 October, 2009 at 12:14

    The South West, Malibu, it’s all much the same. With a good imagination and a following wind, anyway.

  4. Xhalax
    27 October, 2009 at 16:22

    Though I’m a complete monoglotte (if that’s even how you spell it)….I’m always pleased to see versions of books that have been translated into other languages.

    But I do hope nothing gets “lost in translation” (no pun intended) as they books are so enjoyable in their original format I don’t want anyone to miss out.

    I’ve only ever read one translated book (Japanese to English) and it wad a little odd. The sentence structure wasn’t quite write.

    • chriswraight
      28 October, 2009 at 10:06

      Yes, that occurred to me too. And because it’s fantasy, I use words like ‘daemonic essence’ and ‘gore-splattered pauldron’. I’d really love to know how they were translated – I don’t think you get those in a standard English-Greek dictionary…

      • Xhalax
        28 October, 2009 at 13:21

        I suspect that if they were, more kids would buy them.

  5. 28 October, 2009 at 15:27

    OK. Because it’s fun to do…

    Gore-splattered pauldron came out as Gore-splattered μετάλλινη επωμίδα

    Daemonic essence came out as Δαιμονικός ουσία

    Which…when you run them back through Greek-English:

    Gore-splattered pauldron

    and

    Demonic substance

    So not TOO far off… 🙂

  6. Xhalax
    28 October, 2009 at 16:16

    Very true pyroriffic. An probably one o the best translations I’ve seen, but it’s sometimes through literal translations that some of the nuiance is lost and since we’re all full of such things I always consider it very important.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

