Home > Warhammer Fantasy > Games Day UK 09

Games Day UK 09

29 September, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

So, that was Games Day! My first appearance at the huge GW/BL bash was certainly something I’ll remember. The scale of the event is massive – three halls of the NEC, all taken up with Warhammer goodness. For me, it was also my first signing gig, and there were plenty of copies of Iron Company up for grabs.

Thanks to all who came to say hi. Being stuck between the gigantic queues for Sandy Mitchell and Gav Thorpe was visually quite odd – I kept hoping some Masters of Magic fans would find their way to my spot through the hordes. Thankfully, there was a steady stream of interest in my new title, and it was great to have the chance to chat some folks I only knew of via the internet. Special thanks to Narry for making the time to chat about all things writerly, Xhalax for elegantly overlooking my terrible spelling of her name, and Pyroriffic for heroically coming to say hello during a  tumbleweed period on the desk. It was cool to meet you all, and I hope it’s the first time of many.

So, now there are copies of Iron Company out in the wild, I’m hoping it goes down well. Letting a book go feels like how I imagine parents do when their beloved progeny start their first day at school: you’re pleased to see them stand on their own two feet, but you don’t want the big kids to give them a hard time. Time will tell..

Anyway, now I’m back in Bath I’d better get down to finishing off my next project. As for what that is exactly, I might keep that to myself for a while (at least until Herr Kyme has scoured it and given his dread verdict). For any Warhammer lore buffs, the title should at least give a clue. Anyone who saw the fantastic posters around the BL stand at GD will also be in little doubt who the main character is.

Categories: Warhammer Fantasy
  1. 30 September, 2009 at 20:09

    You’re welcome! Thank you for the great conversation – I just wish we could have carried on.

    Get yourself to the link in my username… 🙂

    • chriswraight
      1 October, 2009 at 19:21

      Hey Pyroriffic! Thanks for the link – that site’s going to be worth visiting over the next couple of weeks. When I get some time, I’ll have a look at some of the fiction on there (that is, once my next crushing deadline is out of the way…).

      Hope you got back from GD09 safely, and good to meet you.

      • 1 October, 2009 at 20:52

        You’d be very welcome, and of course I have no bias towards you reading any of my fiction first *coff*…none whatsoever.

  2. 1 October, 2009 at 23:01

    (Plus of course, we CAN actually carry on the conversation there through the joy of PM…)

  3. Xhalax
    5 October, 2009 at 15:43

    ’twas great to meet you to Mr. Wraight and I hope that we’ll be seeing a lot more from you too as the months progress.

    And now I can pester you too now you have your own blog.
    Muahahahahahahahahaha!

    Though I must admit that I haven’t started Iron Company yet….ill health has bust up my reading stride. But I’ll keep you appraised and I was telling my older sibling about Swords of Justice and he seemed very pleased (He’s an Empire man to the core.).

    • chriswraight
      7 October, 2009 at 07:42

      Ah, the mighty Xhalax! Glad you found your way over here. It seems like almost everyone fell sick after Games Day (not me – I have a crushing deadline to meet, so dying can wait).

      The first draft of Sword of Justice is almost ready to go – I’ll post about it a bit more when it’s done. But I hope you enjoy Iron Company when you get a chance to have a look at it.

      All the best, C.

      • Xhalax
        13 October, 2009 at 10:16

        When everyone started getting sick, I started to worry I was the cause as I was in ill health myself going to Games Day and I pretty much spoke to everyone.

        Other than that….Iron Company is progressing nicely. A lovely smooth and uncluttered narrative so I find myself easily turning the pages.

  4. 6 October, 2009 at 15:19

    Hey Chris,

    It was great to meet and chat with you. Good to see you getting the blog going. Best of luck with everything.

    Cheers,

    GAV

    • chriswraight
      7 October, 2009 at 07:40

      Cheers Gav – good to meet you too, and very interesting to hear about your plans for the future. Hope you’re getting over your post-Games Day flu…

  5. chriswraight
    13 October, 2009 at 11:05

    Xhalax :

    When everyone started getting sick, I started to worry I was the cause as I was in ill health myself going to Games Day and I pretty much spoke to everyone.

    Other than that….Iron Company is progressing nicely. A lovely smooth and uncluttered narrative so I find myself easily turning the pages.

    Thanks for the comment, Xhalax, and glad you’re enjoying it. I must say, I didn’t get sick after GD09 (which makes me about the only one who didn’t), so I think you’re off the hook.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

