Catching up…

27 October, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Scars CoverThings have been apocalyptically quiet around here over the past few months. That’s entirely due to being busy with a whole swathe of projects, most of which are nearing the end now. The serialised run of Scars is now over, which has been a really fascinating experience. Thanks to all who enjoyed it and got in touch here or on Twitter to say so. For all those who’ve been waiting for the hardback edition, my current info suggests it’ll be available from January next year. It’ll eventually be issued in all the usual formats, including audio. Aside from things like a Dramatis Personae and author’s afterword, the book versions will have the same content as the ebook episodes.

Stormcaller CoverAlso, Master of Dragons snuck out somewhere amid all the White Scars hoo-hah, and is now available for sale. That’s Part II of the War of Vengeance series that I’m writing with Nick Kyme. Lots of High Elves and (as you’d expect from the title) dragons. Had a great time writing that one, so hope people enjoy the read.

Finally, I’m back with Space Wolves again, penning Stormcaller, the follow-up to Blood of Asaheim. This is keeping me very busy all the way up to the BL Weekender II, which I’ll be at too. Hope to see lots of people there! After all that, I may even try to find some time to blog properly again…

BL-Weekender-II-logo

  1. steven
    28 October, 2013 at 05:39

    Chris, loved Scars. I plan to purchase the hardback when it comes out. I think you captured the White Scars perfectly.

    • Chris Wraight
      28 October, 2013 at 09:52

      Thanks, Steven! Glad you enjoyed, and hope you enjoy the book too. The illustrations are great, IMO, and I’m looking forward to seeing it myself.

  2. TheSGC
    28 October, 2013 at 21:14

    Glad to see a sequel for Blood of Asaheim. Damn good novel. What else is next for you?

    • Chris Wraight
      31 October, 2013 at 09:46

      I don’t know! Busy with Stormcaller, then we’ll see.

  3. 29 October, 2013 at 21:54

    Master of Dragons received a shocking lack of publicity from BL on it’s release. Glad to see it’s now on the front page.

    Are you able to confirm the intended publication format of the War of Vengeance series? I originally thought it was a trilogy, but I’ve since seen that White Dwarf mentions the next 2 books. I’ve also heard that you and Nick Kyme are writing 3 books each in the series.

    • Chris Wraight
      31 October, 2013 at 09:45

      Hi Rob. The plan is for four books, two each.

  4. 15 December, 2013 at 17:06

    I’ve just finished Master of Dragons. A really well crafted story, and I found the ending quite gut-wrenching even though I knew what was coming!

    • Chris Wraight
      15 December, 2013 at 17:13

      Thanks, Vassili! Really glad you enjoyed. We’ve got two more books to go in the series, so keep an eye out for Nick’s Elfdoom in due course. I’ve got a feeling things aren’t going to get much better for the pointy-ears…

  5. 24 December, 2013 at 01:20

    Literally just finished Scars and have to say I loved it! It’s taken far too many books to get the White Scars perspective and it’s good to know they are as mental as all the other legions…:-) also I feel you did a good job distancing them from the wolves, many hobbiests seem to think of them as wolves on bikes and I like how different they feel in this book.

    Great work, I’m looking forward to your next heresy novel :-)

    • Chris Wraight
      24 December, 2013 at 15:58

      Glad you liked Scars, Thomas! It was fun to write, and we put a lot of thought into how the WS should think and act, so glad that worked for you. Hopefully more to come at some point…

  6. Bloody Mary
    3 January, 2014 at 20:35

    Finally managed to dig through my to-read pile and get to Scars. ;) It was a great read, with a lot of interesting moments (and some really funny ones. Who knew you could try climbing a Luna Wolf? Though, I kind of suspect Malcador hadn’t really had much experience in raising girls, if he thinks they’d fight less than boys.)

    Poor Xa’ven, though. It’s unfair the black dude always dies first :P. Although, one could make a case for either of the three shattered legions being ‘black’, so there is probably no way to win that argument.

    It was also great to see Arvida again. Is he Azariah Vidya or should I take my tinfoil hat off?

    • Chris Wraight
      4 January, 2014 at 10:21

      Glad you enjoyed :) I liked Xa’ven, and was sorry to see him go. As for Arvida, you’ll have to wait for Scars II :p.

  7. Thomas
    5 January, 2014 at 15:30

    Hi Chris. I really enjoyed reading Scars and Blood of Asaheim. I can’t wait to read Stormcaller. I really like the way you describe the wolves. What are your next plans for them? Will there be a follow-up to Stormcaller? Will you write an horus heresy novel on Space Wolves where you have left them in Scars?
    Keep up the good work.

    • Chris Wraight
      5 January, 2014 at 16:05

      Hi Thomas. Thanks for the comments! I do have plans for a follow-up to Stormcaller, which I hope to be writing towards the end of the year. As for the Heresy, the story of the Wolves will be continued from where we left them in Scars, though I’m not sure who will be telling it (the Heresy is a multi-author series, as you know, so storylines are picked up as the schedule gets settled by the editors). I do hope at some point to work on another Heresy novel, but that depends on a thousand factors, a busy schedule among them!

  8. Liliedhe
    6 January, 2014 at 10:56

    Scars was awesome. :) And I am looking forward a lot to Stormcaller, as Blood of Asaheim was one of my favourite books last year.

    Will Lukas the Trickster ever show up in one of your Space Wolf books? Or is that guy to non-PG to do so, given what is told about him ;)

  9. Chris Wraight
    6 January, 2014 at 16:17

    Glad you liked, Liliedhe. Lukas isn’t on the horizon at moment, I have to say, but – in the future – you never know…

  10. Scott Mcsloy
    22 January, 2014 at 09:23

    Hello. Just finished Blood of Asaheim. Absolutely superb book! Will we see more of Ragnar Blackmane? How many books are planned for your Space Wolves series?

    • Chris Wraight
      22 January, 2014 at 10:11

      Hi Scott! Many thanks for the comment. I’ve just finished the first draft of Book II, and I’d like to take Jarnhamar to a third if the fates align. Time will tell! Ragnar doesn’t feature in the next book, but there’s no reason why he couldn’t pop up again at some point. Cheers for getting in touch :)

  11. Thomas
    25 January, 2014 at 22:25

    Hello Chris. You just finished the draft of Stormcaller. I thought that it was due to be available this february? I’m really looking this book and the way you’ll describe Jarnhamar and Njal Stormcaller. He is one of my favorite Space Wolf character with Ingvar, Jorundur, Bjorn and Leman Russ

  12. Thomas
    7 March, 2014 at 18:17

    Hello Chris. During the Black Library Weekender, you spoke about your plans. It seems that you have projects for a Scars 2, the beginning of Battle of the Fang and an audio named Wolf’s Claw. Can you tell us more about that? And your other projects if you have anymore?

    • Chris Wraight
      26 March, 2014 at 11:04

      Hi Thomas. Apologies for such a late reply. I’m currently busy with Fantasy projects, but Wolf’s Claw is now on sale, and is an audio drama featuring Bjorn in the Heresy-era. Regarding the future, nothing much is set in stone, but I do have more Space Wolves lined up. I’d love to revisit the White Scars, and I hope the opportunity will come at some point, but nothing is confirmed on that front. Hope that’s helpful!

  13. Liliedhe
    24 May, 2014 at 19:52

    Can somebody please give Arvida a hug? ^^ That was my overwhelming feeling after I finished the story in Sedition’s Gate.

    I’m not sure it really has to be the fleshchange that he feels coming – although it starts rather similar in Battle of the Fang. I really hope it is not, but this is the Heresy, so if it isn’t the Fleshchange it’s probably something worse.

    And I keep wondering if Arvida really ends up founder of the Blood Ravens……….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

