Home > Events, Warhammer 40K, Warhammer Fantasy, Writing > Gods, what a monster

Gods, what a monster

8 February, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Blood of AsaheimIt’s finally landed, and it’s a big beast indeed. Forgive the repeat posting about Blood of Asaheim – it’s my first hardback release, and I’m still quite excited about it. There is something special about hardbacks, after all – the size, the weight, the solidity. It feels like you’ve created something that might last for a while, and that’s a nice thought to have. I’m biased of course, but I think it looks fantastic, especially Raymond Swanland‘s gorgeous cover art. Fancy picking up a copy? There’ll be plenty for sale at BL Live, which is now less than a month away. Last time I looked there were only 30 tickets left, so might be worth hurrying if you want to come along.

Incidentally, there’s also a teaser right at the back of the book advertising a short story called ‘Wulfen’. Wonder what that’s about?

Other than that, I’ve done a little housekeeping around here, adding links to some recent stuff that’s come out recently or will do soon. Apart from the mighty Blood of Asaheim, the 40K page now has an entry for the Advent short Failure’s Reward. I’ve also added The Sigillite to the Heresy page.

Sadly, as many of you will know, Graeme’s Fantasy Book Review stopped publishing new pieces a while back. I’ll miss the site: I enjoyed Graeme’s reviews and thought he always had interesting stuff to say. I’ll leave the link up, as there’s loads of material still up. I don’t read nearly as many reviews as I used to, but I did notice that the British Fantasy Society is publishing reviews of a lot of BL books recently, so I’ve added a link to their site.

Not before time, I’ve also added three new BL authors’ websites: David Annandale, who penned the recent Chains of Golgotha and Lord of Death, real-life Boba Fett Josh Reynolds, author of the new Gotrek and Felix novel Road of Skulls, and fellow south-wester Guy Haley, whose Baneblade and Skarsnik are out soon. Nice to see such new blood writing for BL (though it does remind me, rather depressingly, of when I could claim to be a newbie too).

  1. 8 February, 2013 at 16:59

    South-wester? You’re from my neck of the woods? Awesome!

    • Chris Wraight
      8 February, 2013 at 17:22

      It’s the best neck of the woods, as is commonly acknowledged.

      • 8 February, 2013 at 21:10

        Lol, South Somerset for me, though Chard isn’t exactly a hot spot of amazingness!

        • 11 February, 2013 at 12:51

          It is near Cricket ST. Thomas though IIRC ? Scary how ads stay with you.
          Really looking forwards to the wolf novel, roll on BL Live I guess.

        • 11 February, 2013 at 19:31

          Lol, yeah Cricket is just outside Chard, though it’s not as good as it used to be, just a hotel now.

  2. Chris Wraight
    12 February, 2013 at 14:59

    Reds8n :

    Really looking forwards to the wolf novel, roll on BL Live I guess.

    Cool. See you there.

  3. steven
    14 February, 2013 at 07:15

    To say that I’m very much looking forward to this novel would be an understatement. I love your take on the Space Wolves.

  4. steven
    16 February, 2013 at 03:43

    Chris, will there be an ebook download available as well on BL’s website? I only see a hardback release for March atm.

    • Chris Wraight
      16 February, 2013 at 09:33

      Yes there definitely will, though I’m not exactly sure when it’ll go up.

  5. steven
    22 February, 2013 at 10:25

    Preorder for the Ebook is now up. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

