Home > Events, Warhammer 40K, Warhammer Fantasy, Writing > Wrath edits, Huss reviews

Wrath edits, Huss reviews

17 February, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments
Image

Warrior Priest

Hmm. It’s been so long since I blogged that WordPress has changed its editor while I’ve been away. This is slightly disconcerting. There’s now a live preview, which shows a post as it’s being composed – typos, malapropisms and all. It’s very clever, but it does expose how haphazardly my mind works.

Anyway. Despite being snowed under with edits to Wrath of Iron, it’s been nice to see Luthor Huss get some attention in various corners of the internet. Kodanshi has made a wonderful recording of one of the opening sections – you can listen to it here. This was interesting for me, since I haven’t (yet) done an audio drama for BL. I wouldn’t have the first idea of how to create one either, so I’m very impressed with Kodanshi’s effort, and it was very nice to hear my words being performed.

A few reviews of the book have popped up, too. Graeme Flory over at Graeme’s Fantasy Book Reviews has given it a write-up, which you can read for yourself here. He always has interesting things to say about the BL books he covers, so it was good to see that he liked it. I was also very pleasantly surprised to see that he’d included Sword of Vengeance and Dragonmage in his favourite books of 2011.

Prolific reviewer for The Founding Fields, Bane of Kings, has also penned a review, which is here. All very much appreciated. In other news, there’s an interview with the Bloghole here – thanks to Shadowhawk for setting it up.

What else is new? Well, expect to see a new Space Wolf story from BL soon. It’ll be called Kraken, and will be available from the website only. I’ll be blogging about that in more detail soon. I’m currently very busy on a novella, which I’m really enjoying – more on that soon.

In between all that, I’m finding time to read extracts of Nick Kyme’s marvellous upcoming tale, The Great Betrayal. Let me tell you, Dwarf (and Fantasy) fans: you’re not going to want to miss this one. I’ve been working with Nick for a while on some of the ideas for this series – I’m only halfway through the current draft, but already the book is bursting with cool revelations and epic battles. All good stuff!

Sadly, I wasn’t able to make the SFX Weekender this year as I’d hoped to. However, I am hoping to be at Adepticon in the Spring and the BL Weekender in November, so it’ll be good to catch up with folks then.

Finally, a quick shout-out to exceptional writer and expert editor Nicola Vincent-Abnett, who has been chronicling her remorseless rise to literary fame and fortune in her new(ish) blog over here. Proof, if it were ever needed, that success and general all-round niceness need not be strangers.

  1. 17 February, 2012 at 11:48

    Thanks for the nod, Chris; you’re a gentleman.

    I’ve been having a look for you on Twitter, but couldn’t track you down. Come on over to the dark side.

  2. 17 February, 2012 at 14:48

    What Nik said. Come join the Twits.

    Hang on…

  3. chriswraight
    17 February, 2012 at 15:12

    I know, I know – I’m feeling the pressure. The day will come…

  4. 18 February, 2012 at 00:21

    Not soon enough! lol Glad you enjoyed TFF’s review of the book, we all really enjoy your writing around these parts. :) I’m looking forward to meeting you finally at AdeptiCon. Be prepared, it’s a rowdy time! Double so when Aaron and I are in the same room…

    Dave Ploss

    • chriswraight
      19 February, 2012 at 16:26

      Ta. And yes, I’d heard that :)

  5. Ernest Stubblefield
    19 February, 2012 at 16:11

    This is a first for me so I apologize if I become to much of a fanboy :) Just finished reading Luthor Huss and I was blown away. I thoroughly enjoyed Sword of Justice, Sword of Vengeance, and Battle at the Fang, but Luthor Huss was amazing. I am a fan of almost every Black Library author but this book was phenomenal! I couldn’t put it down til I was finished. I hope there will be other books about this character, and maybe even Lukas. Keep on writing and I’ll keep buying.

    • chriswraight
      19 February, 2012 at 16:29

      Hi Ernest. Thanks for your kind comments, and glad you enjoyed the read. There are no follow-ups to Luthor Huss currently planned, but equally no reason why there couldn’t be in the future.

  6. 20 February, 2012 at 11:07

    Thanks for the mention and link to my recording, good chap. I must also add my enthusiasm for your work, and say that Sword of Justice was responsible for getting me into WHFB itself — prior to then I had only been interested in the 40K side of things!

  7. 20 February, 2012 at 12:42

    happy new year I guess !

    Thoroughly enjoyed Huss, especially the bit with the chaos spawn. So visceral I could almost feel the blood spray across my face.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

