Home > Warhammer Fantasy > Sword of Justice cover

Sword of Justice cover

Following up from the Games Day post, some of you may have noticed the striking posters around the NEC of someone looking a lot like the great unsmiling protector of the Empire, Ludwig Schwarzhelm. I’m extremely chuffed that this amazing image is going to form the basis of the cover to Sword of Justice - it looks amazing.

Sword of Justice

For more on how this will look, head over to the Black Library blog here. The insanely talented (and very nice chap) Darius Hinks has done an amazing job on the cover. I’ve yet to see a full mock-up, but the concept’s fantastic and I’m really excited to see how it’ll turn out.

Categories: Warhammer Fantasy
  1. 1 October, 2009 at 20:53

    I saw this off Twitter earlier. That is one snacky bit of artwork – and I love the concept for the Warhammer Heroes series.

    • chriswraight
      7 October, 2009 at 07:48

      Yeah, it’s great. I also loved his cover for Nick Kyme’s Salamander. Without wishing to sound like I’m cosying up too much to my bosses, the BL covers are looking fantastic at the moment (which is good news for everyone, I reckon).

      • 8 October, 2009 at 17:18

        Covers need to look that good for fantasy novels though. I mean, scantily clad elf women have their place (mostly at the back of the shelf…), but that is a nice hardcore warrior. I’d buy it.

  2. 5 October, 2009 at 10:25

    A stunning looking cover, Chris. This is fine work that’ll kick off a cool new series methinks.

    Be sure to keep us all updated with what’s going on with all your works.

    Congrats on the site, too – looks great! :-)

  3. lord Slaanesh
    6 October, 2009 at 08:21

    The cover looks great,any hints on who Ludwig Schwarzhelm will be faceing?

    • chriswraight
      7 October, 2009 at 07:47

      Hi Lord Slaanesh,

      Hmm. I’m not sure how much I want to give away at this stage. What I can tell you is that as well as some head-crunching action, there’s also a fair dose of political intrigue. Schwarzhelm is, after all, a major figure in the hierarchy of the Empire, aside from being possibly its most effective general. Nick’s given me 125,000 words to play with, so there’s lots of room for scheming…

  4. lord Slaanesh
    7 October, 2009 at 08:14

    Sounds Very cool, do we know at what point in the time line its in pre storm of chaos or after?

  5. 7 October, 2009 at 12:08

    Love the artwork, very well done. It will make a superb cover.

    I’ve found about your blog on Nick’s site. Time to update my blogroll :)

  6. chriswraight
    8 October, 2009 at 17:39

    pyroriffic :

    Covers need to look that good for fantasy novels though. I mean, scantily clad elf women have their place (mostly at the back of the shelf…), but that is a nice hardcore warrior. I’d buy it.

    Not sure I’d want to see a scantily clad Schwarzhelm either. Best to keep his armour on, I reckon.

    • 8 October, 2009 at 20:28

      Well…yes.

      But you know what I mean.

      *attempts hard Paddington-stare*

    • 8 October, 2009 at 21:43

      PS: are you mocking my Stupid?

      • chriswraight
        8 October, 2009 at 22:35

        No! :-) I completely agree with you about the elf women. That would *not* have been a good look for this book…

  7. 8 October, 2009 at 23:35

    chriswraight :No! I completely agree with you about the elf women. That would *not* have been a good look for this book…

    Consider yourself raspberry-blown-at. Or whatever the right conjugation might be.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

